Diocesan Board of Education

The Diocesan Board of Education advises and makes recommendations to the Bishop of the Diocese of Sioux City and the Superintendent of Catholic Schools for the promotion of Catholic education by:

  • Recommending, reviewing, and formulating school policies, in conjunction with the Superintendent, for submission to the Bishop for approval
  • Once approved these decisions are binding to all schools within the Diocese of Sioux City and are administrated by the Catholic Schools office
  • Overseeing the Strategic Plans for Catholic Schools in the Diocese
  • Making recommendations on other matters related to Catholic schools that the Superintendent or Bishop, in their discretion, may seek from the board

Diocesan Board of Education Members  2022-23

Bishop: Most Reverend R. Walker Nickless

Superintendent: Patty Lansink
Director of Education Services: Kelly Kohout
President: Rev. Michael Cronin of Denison, IA
Vice President: Ted Garringer of Carroll, IA

Board Members 2022-23

Sharyl Bruning of Danbury, IA
Sue Eldridge of Boone, IA
Theresa Engle of Sioux City, IA
Rev. Brent Lingle of Storm Lake, IA
Christina Peterson of Algona, IA
Rev. Merlin Schrad of Carroll, IA
Greg Schroeder of Remsen, IA
Melissa Uhl of Sioux City, IA

Diocesan Board of Education Mission Statement

Rooted in our rich Catholic tradition and values-centered culture, we, the Catholic Schools of the Diocese of Sioux City, in partnership with parents and parishes, are committed to forming students to be lifelong Disciples of Christ.

The Diocesan Board meets quarterly.